Tag: ISO 16128

  • Korea’s Natural Origin Index: The 95% Line, and the Disclaimer That Must Sit Beside the Number (Ingredient Guide 28)

    Cover image for an article on the natural origin index printed on Korean cosmetic packaging. A 2025 industry guide from the Korea Cosmetic Association defines a natural cosmetic as one whose natural and natural-origin content reaches 95 percent of the finished product by weight, calculated under the ISO 16128-2 guideline, and an organic cosmetic as one with organic content of 10 percent or more while natural content stays at 95 percent or more. A product below the threshold may not call an ingredient natural on the pack, but it may print the index itself when the calculation basis is shown. The Korean Ministry of Food and Drug Safety guideline then requires the words Not a natural cosmetic beside that index, while ISO 16128 states that it does not address product communication, human safety or environmental safety. Dr. J Ingredient Notes.

    🇰🇷 한국어판

    Hello, this is Dr. J. Today we read the natural origin index printed on Korean cosmetic packaging — what that number counts, and why the words “Not a natural cosmetic” so often sit right beside it.

    Two things surprise most people. In Korea, “natural cosmetic” is no longer defined in the law. And a product that misses the threshold can still print the index — the rules opened that door on purpose.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    The primary sources

    📄 Guide on Labelling and Advertising of Natural and Organic Cosmetics (Korea Cosmetic Association, PDF, Korean)

    📄 Guideline on Labelling and Advertising of Cosmetics (MFDS, 14 Aug 2025, PDF, Korean)

    📄 ISO 16128-2:2017 (abstract)

    📄 U.S. FDA, “‘Organic’ Cosmetics”

    The Korean documents carry the thresholds and the disclaimer wording; the ISO abstract carries the sentence that limits the standard itself.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Five lines if you are in a hurry

    ✔ Korea deleted the legal definition of natural and organic cosmetics on 1 August 2025

    ✔ The thresholds now live in a 2025 industry guide: natural 95%, organic 10% plus natural 95%

    ✔ A product below the line may still print the index — with the calculation basis shown

    ✔ Beside that index the front panel carries “Not a natural cosmetic”

    ✔ ISO 16128 states that it does not address labelling, human safety or environmental safety

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    The definition left the statute book in August 2025

    Until 2025, Korean cosmetics law defined natural cosmetics and organic cosmetics and ran a government certification scheme for them. An amendment that took effect on 1 August 2025 deleted those definitions and the certification provisions together.

    What filled the gap is not another statute. It is a guide published in 2025 by the Korea Cosmetic Association — more precisely by the advertising advisory committee of the self-regulatory review body for cosmetic labelling and advertising. The guide describes itself as setting out the minimum requirements for businesses that want to use these words.

    ※ The repeal itself, and the certification scheme that disappeared with it, were covered in Ingredient Guide 18. This article is about the number that is printed on packs now.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What the guide counts — 95% and 10%

    What the guide says (translated) How to read it
    Natural cosmetic A product whose natural and natural-origin content reaches 95% or more of the finished product by weight, calculated under the ISO 16128-2 guideline The unit is the finished product, not an ingredient. Everything in the bottle is weighed
    Organic cosmetic Organic and organic-origin content of 10% or more of the finished product, with natural content — the organic part included — still at 95% or more Both lines must hold. Organic is a branch of natural here, not an alternative route
    What sits on the natural side Plants and animals, minerals and micro-organisms, and ingredients derived from them Not plants alone. Mineral and fermentation-derived materials belong here too
    The calculation ISO 16128-1 (definitions for ingredients) · ISO 16128-2 (criteria for ingredients and products) A two-part international standard, borrowed as the arithmetic

    Evidence graphic on the natural origin index. First, what the index counts: the Korea Cosmetic Association guide of 2025 sets natural content at 95 percent of the finished product by weight under ISO 16128-2, and organic content at 10 percent or more with natural content still at 95 percent or more, counting plants, animals, minerals, micro-organisms and their derivatives. Second, what a product below 95 percent may print: it may not call an ingredient natural on the product, but it may print the index with the calculation basis shown, which is where the wording natural origin index 00 percent calculated per ISO 16128 comes from. Third, what must sit next to the number: the front panel carries Not a natural cosmetic, elsewhere on the pack a line saying the figure is a simple calculation under ISO 16128 and does not mean the product qualifies, and media advertising carries both facts together; this wording entered the guideline in its December 2021 revision. Fourth, what the standard says it does not cover: product communication, human safety, environmental safety, socio-economic considerations, packaging materials and regulatory requirements. Fifth, one standard and three jobs: Korea deleted the legal definition on 1 August 2025 and an industry guide now sets the thresholds, the European Union has no definition in its cosmetics regulation and runs claims through the six common criteria of Regulation 655 of 2013, and in the United States the FDA does not define organic while the USDA runs that programme separately.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    The guide’s scope reaches products that print only an index

    This is the clause most summaries skip. The guide does not govern only products that call themselves natural. It also covers products that intend to print nothing but an ISO 16128 index.

    Section of the guide What it sets out
    I. Purpose To give consumers correct information and to set out the minimum requirements for businesses that label and advertise these words
    II. Scope Products labelled or advertised as natural or organic cosmetics, and products that calculate and print a natural or organic (origin) index under the ISO 16128 guideline
    III. Criteria 1. Definitions · 2. Labelling and advertising · 3. Substantiation
    Substantiation A product that labels or advertises these words must be able to substantiate that it meets the criteria

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Blocked, then opened — the two sentences that explain the pack

    Section III-2 of the guide places a prohibition and an exception side by side. Read apart, each one misleads; read together, they explain what you see on the shelf.

    What the guide says (translated) In practice
    The prohibition Where the finished product does not meet the definition, the product may not directly label or advertise an ingredient as a natural (origin) or organic (origin) ingredient — even if that particular ingredient is one One natural ingredient does not let the product speak of natural ingredients
    The exception However, where a natural (origin) or organic (origin) index calculated under the ISO 16128 guideline is presented clearly, together with the basis of the calculation, labelling and advertising by index is permitted The number may be spoken. The calculation basis is the price of admission
    The result on the pack “Natural (origin) index 00% (calculated per ISO 16128)” Exactly the string you find on Korean packaging

    So “natural cosmetic” and “natural origin index” are two different claims. The first belongs to finished products above 95%; the second belongs to any product willing to show its arithmetic.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What the MFDS guideline adds — the four permitted wordings

    The Korean Ministry of Food and Drug Safety publishes a Guideline on Labelling and Advertising of Cosmetics (version of 14 August 2025). Its Annex 2, the table of claims that require substantiation, carries a dedicated row: “3. Content concerning ISO natural and organic index labelling and advertising.”

    Permitted wording (as printed in the guideline) Substantiation required
    Natural index 00% (ISO 16128 calculation applied) Substantiated by evidence relating to that finished product
    “In this case it is also necessary to indicate that the figure is calculated under the ISO 16128 guideline, together with wording that prevents consumer misunderstanding.”
    Natural origin index 00% (ISO 16128 calculation applied) same row
    Organic index 00% (ISO 16128 calculation applied) same row
    Organic origin index 00% (ISO 16128 calculation applied) same row

    ※ A footnote in the same annex defines the standard plainly: ISO 16128 is a method (guideline) for obtaining a calculated value for natural and organic content in cosmetics.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Why “Not a natural cosmetic” sits beside the number

    The guideline’s Section III, Notes is where this article’s hinge lies. When an ISO natural or organic index is labelled or advertised, the guideline says the following ways of writing it are to be followed to reduce consumer misunderstanding.

    Where What must appear alongside (translated)
    ① Front panel “Not a natural cosmetic (organic cosmetic)”
    ② Elsewhere on the pack “A simple calculation result under ISO 16128; does not mean the product falls under ‘natural cosmetic (organic cosmetic)’”
    ③ Media advertising “Natural index 00% (a figure calculated under the ISO 16128 guideline). However, this figure does not mean the product qualifies as a natural (organic) cosmetic”

    That small print on the front of the box is not a brand being modest. It is wording the guideline supplies, and the revision history shows when it arrived: the 30 December 2021 edition, recorded as “ISO natural and organic index labelling and advertising method established.”

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    A prohibition with its own proviso

    Annex 1 of the same guideline lists expressions that may not be used. One line reads:

    MFDS guideline, Annex 1 — expressions that may not be used

    Expressions relating to “natural (Natural)” or “organic (organic)” on a product that does not conform to the Guide on Labelling and Advertising of Natural and Organic Cosmetics (Korea Cosmetic Association).
    Note — businesses wishing to use natural or organic expressions need appropriate supporting documents · “provided that expressions falling under Annex 2, item 3 are excluded.”

    The last clause carries the weight. The prohibition arrives with its exception attached. A product outside the thresholds cannot say “natural”, yet the index wording of Annex 2 item 3 is carved out of that ban — the same architecture as the guide’s “blocked, then opened” pair above.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What the number does not count — six items, named by the standard itself

    The ISO 16128-2 abstract contains one sentence that keeps this whole subject honest.

    ISO 16128-2:2017, abstract

    “Neither ISO 16128-1 nor this document addresses product communication (e.g. claims and labelling), human safety, environmental safety, socio-economic considerations (e.g. fair trade), characteristics of packaging materials or regulatory requirements applicable for cosmetics.”

    The index counts where ingredients came from. Whether a formula is gentle, whether it suits your skin, whether the packaging is sound — none of that is the standard’s business, and it says so.

    Which leaves a gap, and the gap is the interesting part: a standard that refuses to speak about labelling is being used for labelling. Each market has filled that silence differently.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    One standard, three jobs — Korea, the EU and the United States

    Korea European Union United States
    Legal definition of natural / organic Deleted on 1 August 2025. The thresholds now sit in a 2025 industry guide No definition in the Cosmetics Regulation FDA does not define it — “The term ‘organic’ is not defined in either of these laws or the regulations that FDA enforces under their authority.”
    Where the criteria live Korea Cosmetic Association guide — natural 95% · organic 10% plus natural 95% Regulation (EC) No 655/2013 and its six common criteria: legal compliance, truthfulness, evidential support, honesty, fairness, informed decision-making For organic, the USDA National Organic Program — “The USDA requirements for the use of the term ‘organic’ are separate from the laws and regulations that FDA enforces for cosmetics.”
    Status of ISO 16128 Named in the guide and the guideline as the calculation method Not named in the Regulation Not named
    What must accompany an index “Not a natural cosmetic (organic cosmetic)” on the front panel No set wording; the claim must clear the common criteria — “If it is claimed on the product that it contains a specific ingredient, the ingredient shall be deliberately present.” No set wording
    Relationship to safety Neither the guide nor the guideline is a safety standard The common criteria govern advertising, not safety FDA — “An ingredient’s source does not determine its safety.”

    ※ The six common criteria are the headings of the Annex to Regulation (EC) No 655/2013, applicable since 11 July 2013. Note what all three jurisdictions share: none of them treats a high natural index as a statement about safety.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Four things to check on the box

    ✔ Look for a percentage next to the word “natural”, not the word alone

    ✔ Look for “calculated per ISO 16128” — the calculation basis is a condition, not decoration

    ✔ If you see “Not a natural cosmetic”, that is an index claim — the line is required, not a confession

    ✔ Judge gentleness from the ingredient list and concentrations, not from the index

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    In one line

    The natural origin index counts where ingredients came from; it does not measure how gentle a product is. Above 95% a product may be called a natural cosmetic; below it, the figure may still be printed with its calculation shown — and the words “Not a natural cosmetic” go with it.

    What is not in this article, and why

    ✔ The calculation formula itself — ISO standards are paid documents. Only the published abstracts were read

    ✔ The ingredient categories of ISO 16128-1 — same reason; the standard text was not opened

    ✔ Article and clause numbers of the Enforcement Rule — Korea’s national law portal was unreachable on the day of writing, so no provision numbers are cited

    ✔ The approval date of the industry guide — the PDF yields only the year (2025)

    ✔ Certification bodies and marks — none appear in the guide’s text, so none are named here

    ✔ Claims that natural or organic means gentler — no primary source supports them. The ISO sentence above says the standard does not address human safety, which is the honest version of that question

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    📌 Earlier articles

    📌 How to Read a Korean Cosmetic Ingredient List (Ingredient Guide 14) — checking by name rather than by index

    📌 Bakuchiol vs Retinol (Ingredient Guide 3) — the plant-derived side

    📌 Collagen: Topical vs Oral (Ingredient Guide 5) — the animal-derived side

    📌 Salicylic Acid (BHA): 0.5% vs 2% (Ingredient Guide 8) — who decides a number

    About the author · Dr. J

    MS in Veterinary Medicine, PhD in Life Sciences. I worked as a researcher at the Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology (KRIBB) and now run Beaurea, a cosmetics manufacturing company, where I write the formulas myself. This blog reads the research papers and the regulatory documents and turns them into plain-language criteria for choosing ingredients. I don’t recommend specific products here – only criteria that apply to any product.

    📄 References

    · Korea Cosmetic Association, Guide on Labelling and Advertising of Natural and Organic Cosmetics (established 2025)

    · Ministry of Food and Drug Safety, Guideline on Labelling and Advertising of Cosmetics, guidance no. 0086-07 (14 August 2025) — Annex 1 · Annex 2 item 3 · Section III Notes

    · ISO 16128-1:2016 · ISO 16128-2:2017 (abstracts)

    · Cosmetics Act of Korea, Act No. 20767 (in force 1 August 2025) — deletion of the natural and organic definitions and certification provisions

    · Regulation (EC) No 655/2013 laying down common criteria for the justification of claims used in relation to cosmetic products

    · U.S. FDA, “‘Organic’ Cosmetics” (content current as of 25 February 2022)

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    This article summarises guidance documents and standard abstracts and is not a substitute for diagnosis or treatment. Passages from the Korean guide and guideline are my translation of the Korean originals; the ISO and FDA sentences are quoted in their published English. Korea’s national law portal was unreachable on the day of writing, so statutory provisions were not re-opened, and ISO standard texts are paid documents, so only the published abstracts were used.

    — Dr. J Ingredient Notes

  • Korea Abolished Its Organic Cosmetic Certification: What the 95% and 10% Thresholds Mean Now, and Who Checks Them (Ingredient Guide 18)

    Cover image for a guide to organic and natural cosmetic claims in Korea. Natural cosmetics require 95 percent natural or natural-derived content and organic cosmetics 10 percent organic content, and the government certification scheme ended on 1 August 2025. Dr. J Ingredient Notes, Ingredient Guide 18.

    🇰🇷 한국어판: 유기농 화장품 기준 – 95%와 10%, 그리고 2025년 8월 폐지된 식약처 인증

    Hello, this is Dr. J. If you have been reading about Korean organic cosmetics, almost everything in English still describes a government certification mark. That scheme no longer exists.

    It ended on 1 August 2025. The two definitions left the Cosmetics Act, the certification articles were deleted, and the notification that held the standard was repealed on the same day.

    The thresholds themselves did not change — natural 95%, organic 10%. What changed is who measures them and who checks. This guide walks the regulation, the repeal notices and the industry guide that replaced them, and ends with how the same question is handled in the United States.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Read the sources first

    📄 Guide on Labelling and Advertising of Natural and Organic Cosmetics (2025, Korean)

    📄 Repeal of the standard — MFDS Notice 2025-49

    📄 Repeal of the certifying-body rules — Notice 2025-48

    📄 ISO 16128-2:2017 — the index calculation

    📄 FDA — “Organic” Cosmetics — how the United States handles the word

    The Korean-language sources are linked as they stand; the figures below are read from those originals.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    The five-line version

    ✓ A natural cosmetic needs 95% natural or natural-derived content

    ✓ An organic cosmetic needs 10% organic, plus 95% natural including that share

    ✓ Korea’s government certification ended on 1 August 2025

    ✓ Certificates issued before then run to their expiry

    ✓ ISO 16128 and written substantiation now carry the claim

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    The two thresholds

    Start with what is being claimed. The numbers are unchanged from the repealed notification; the method moved to ISO 16128.

    Natural cosmetic Organic cosmetic
    Natural (or derived) content 95% or more 95% or more, including the organic share
    Organic (or derived) content No separate threshold 10% or more
    How it is measured By weight, ISO 16128-2 By weight, ISO 16128-2
    What counts as natural ISO 16128-1 definitions ISO 16128-1 definitions

    A point worth sitting with: an organic cosmetic can be 10-something per cent organic. That is not a shortcut. It is where the line was drawn, and the remaining 85 per cent or so still has to be natural or natural-derived.

    Evidence figure on organic and natural cosmetic claims in Korea. First, the two thresholds: a natural cosmetic needs 95 percent or more natural or natural-derived content, an organic cosmetic needs 10 percent or more organic content plus 95 percent or more natural content including that organic share, measured by weight and calculated with ISO 16128-2, from the Guide on Labelling and Advertising of Natural and Organic Cosmetics, 2025. Second, government certification ended on 1 August 2025: both definitions left the Cosmetics Act, Articles 14-2 to 14-5 were deleted in the amendment of 31 January 2025, Notification 2019-66 was repealed by Notice 2025-49 and the certifying-body rules by Notice 2025-48, per Korea Cosmetic Association notices and the MFDS Cosmetics Policy Division. Third, what stands in its place: cite the ISO 16128-1 definitions and the 16128-2 index calculation, hold substantiation that the product meets the threshold, use permitted wording such as natural derived index of a given percentage calculated with ISO 16128, and certificates issued before the repeal run to their expiry, under Article 14 of the Cosmetics Act and the industry guide.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What was removed, and when

    What went Instrument Date
    The definitions of natural and organic cosmetics, Cosmetics Act Article 2 Act No. 20767 amended 31 Jan 2025
    Articles 14-2 to 14-5 — certification, validity, certification mark, accredited bodies same Act amended 31 Jan 2025
    Article 13(1)3 and parts of the penalty articles same Act amended 31 Jan 2025
    Notification 2019-66, the standard for natural and organic cosmetics Repeal Notice 2025-49 1 Aug 2025
    The rules on designating certifying bodies Repeal Notice 2025-48 1 Aug 2025

    The Act was amended on 31 January 2025 and the two repeal notices took effect on 1 August 2025. Both notices were posted, with the ministry’s covering document, by the Korea Cosmetic Association.

    The stated reason was to remove duplicate certification. Private schemes were already doing the work, so the government stepped out of it.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Old certificates are still running

    A repeal does not void what was already issued. Certificates remain valid until they expire, and the old validity period was three years.

    So a Korean shelf right now holds two kinds of product: ones carrying the old government mark, and ones labelled against the industry guide with no mark at all. Neither is better by definition — the guarantor is different, and that is the thing to notice.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Before and after, side by side

    Before — Notification 2019-66 Now — industry guide, 2025
    Who set it Ministry of Food and Drug Safety Self-regulatory body for cosmetic labelling and advertising, at the Korea Cosmetic Association
    Natural content 95% or more 95% or more
    Organic content 10% or more 10% or more
    Synthetic ingredients allowed Up to 5%, of which petrochemical moiety 2% or less No such list — ISO 16128 calculation takes its place
    Manufacturing processes Permitted processes listed as physical, chemical and biological Not listed in the guide
    Who checks A certifying body designated by the ministry The company, holding substantiation on file

    The thresholds did not move. The checking did.

    One consequence is easy to miss. The repealed notification carried a 5% cap on synthetic ingredients, with the petrochemical moiety held to 2%, and a list of permitted manufacturing processes. The industry guide has no such list — the ISO 16128 calculation stands in for it. If you find those older figures quoted as current Korean rules, they are out of date.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What carries the claim now

    Two things. The ISO 16128 pair, and substantiation.

    ISO 16128-1:2016 defines which ingredients count as natural, derived natural, organic or derived organic. ISO 16128-2:2017 sets out how to calculate the indexes. The 95 and the 10 are outputs of that calculation.

    The guide also fixes the permitted wording. What a company may print is a phrase of the form “natural (derived) index XX% (calculated under ISO 16128)” — the claim carries its own method. What it may not print, when the product misses the threshold, is a line like “contains natural ingredient X” leaning on a single component.

    And the evidence has to exist on paper:

    Cosmetics Act, Article 14 (Substantiation of labelling and advertising)

    (1) A business operator or seller shall be able to substantiate matters of fact in its own labelling or advertising.

    (3) … shall submit the substantiating material to the Minister of Food and Drug Safety within 15 days of the request.

    Paragraph (4) requires the ministry to order the labelling or advertising stopped if the material is not filed in time and the claim continues. Certification is gone; the checking is not.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Article 13 did not go away

    The definitions and the certification articles were deleted. The prohibition on misleading claims was not.

    Cosmetics Act, Article 13(1) — prohibited labelling and advertising

    1. Labelling or advertising likely to be mistaken for a medicine

    2. … likely to be mistaken for a functional cosmetic when it is not

    3. Deleted <31 Jan 2025>

    5. Any other labelling or advertising likely to deceive consumers or cause them to be mistaken, contrary to fact

    Item 3 was the natural-and-organic provision. Item 5 now covers that ground. The MFDS labelling and advertising guidance of 14 August 2025 also lists, among prohibited expressions, natural or organic wording on a product that does not meet the industry guide.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    The private route: COSMOS

    With the state out of it, the scheme most visible on Korean packaging is COSMOS — a non-profit standard built by five European organisations: BDIH (Germany), Cosmebio and Ecocert (France), ICEA (Italy) and the Soil Association (United Kingdom).

    Finished products carry COSMOS ORGANIC or COSMOS NATURAL; raw materials are COSMOS CERTIFIED or COSMOS APPROVED. In Korea the certifying bodies are KTR (Korea Testing & Research Institute) and Control Union Korea.

    A company holding one of these may print it alongside the index wording. It is worth knowing, though, that this is a private guarantee, not a government one.

    ※ The organic-content percentages behind each COSMOS grade were not stated on the public overview page, so they are not quoted here.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Korea and the United States, side by side

    The word “organic” is handled very differently in the two markets, and a Korean product sold in the US runs into the second column.

    Korea United States
    Is there a government definition? There was one in the Cosmetics Act. It was deleted on 31 January 2025 No. FDA says the term is not defined in the laws it enforces
    Who certifies Nobody, since 1 August 2025. Private schemes such as COSMOS continue USDA under the National Organic Program, for agricultural ingredients
    What sets the threshold An industry guide citing ISO 16128-1 and -2 — natural 95%, organic 10% NOP rules for the organic claim; FDA rules still apply to labelling and safety
    What the company must hold Substantiation, due within 15 days of a request (Cosmetics Act Art. 14) Certification records for the NOP claim

    The FDA’s position is blunt: “The term ‘organic’ is not defined in either of these laws or the regulations that FDA enforces.” The definition and the certification sit with the USDA’s National Organic Program, which certifies agricultural ingredients. And a cosmetic bearing an organic claim “must comply with both USDA regulations for the organic claim and FDA regulations for labeling and safety requirements.”

    So the two countries arrived at a similar place from opposite directions. The United States never defined the word for cosmetics. Korea defined it, certified it for years, then handed the measuring to an international standard and the checking to the companies themselves.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What ISO 16128-2 does not cover

    One caution, and it is in the standard’s own scope. ISO 16128-2 is a method for calculating indexes. The overview states that it does not address:

    ✓ Product labelling

    ✓ Human safety

    ✓ Environmental safety

    ✓ Fair trade and other regulatory requirements

    So a high natural index is not a gentleness rating. It counts how much of the formula came from nature, which is a different question from how your skin will respond. For reactive skin, the ingredient list is the more useful page.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What to check on the box

    ✓ Whether a number and a method sit beside the words “natural” or “organic”

    ✓ Whether the wording follows the “natural (derived) index XX% (ISO 16128)” form

    ✓ Whether a private scheme such as COSMOS is named, together with its certifier

    ✓ If a Korean government mark is shown, whether the product’s certificate is still inside its term

    “Contains natural ingredients”, with no number and no scheme, tells you nothing about how much. Turn the box over and read the ingredient list instead — the front of it answers the question faster.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What I left out, and why

    ✓ The repealed notification’s process annex — no longer in force; it appears only in the before-and-after table

    ✓ How many products had been certified, and any revocations — I could not open a primary source

    ✓ The ISO 16128 formulas and the treatment of water — the standard itself is paywalled, so this stops at “a method for calculating indexes”

    ✓ Per-grade organic percentages for COSMOS — not stated on the public overview

    ✓ “Natural means gentle” — no primary source, and it sits against what the ISO scope says

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    One line

    Natural 95%, organic 10% — and in Korea you now read the wording rather than look for a mark.

    Substantiation came up more than once above. What a cosmetic advertisement may and may not say in Korea is set out in its own guide (Ingredient Guide 19).

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    📌 Previous guides

    📌 How to Read a Korean Cosmetic Ingredient List (Guide 14) — where to look when there is no index

    📌 Arbutin vs Alpha-Arbutin: What Korea’s 2–5% Means (Guide 15) — another number fixed by notification

    📌 Sunscreen SPF and PA: How to Read the Numbers (Guide 11)

    📌 Skin Concern Ingredient Map

    About the author · Dr. J

    MS in Veterinary Medicine, PhD in Life Sciences. I worked as a researcher at the Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology (KRIBB) and now run Beaurea, a cosmetics manufacturing company, where I write the formulas myself. This blog reads the research papers and the regulatory documents and turns them into plain-language criteria for choosing ingredients. I don’t recommend specific products here – only criteria that apply to any product.

    📄 References

    · Self-Regulatory Body for Cosmetic Labelling and Advertising, Guide on Labelling and Advertising of Natural and Organic Cosmetics, 2025

    · MFDS Repeal Notices 2025-49 and 2025-48, effective 1 August 2025

    · Cosmetics Act (Act No. 20767, amended 31 January 2025), Articles 13 and 14

    · ISO 16128-1:2016 and ISO 16128-2:2017

    · U.S. FDA, “‘Organic’ Cosmetics”, page updated 25 February 2022

    · COSMOS-standard AISBL, public overview

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    This article summarises statutes, notices and published guidance, and does not recommend a particular product. Rules change; please check the originals before relying on any of it for a decision.

    — Dr. J Ingredient Notes