Tag: collagen peptides

  • Firmness Actives in Korea: Wrinkle Is Notified, Elasticity Is Substantiated

    Cover image for a guide to firmness and elasticity actives in Korean cosmetics. Korea's functional cosmetics notification lists six claim categories, and the wrinkle category names four actives: retinol 2,500 IU per gram, retinyl palmitate 10,000 IU per gram, adenosine 0.04 percent and polyethoxylated retinamide 0.05 to 0.2 percent. The word elasticity does not appear in that table. Instead Chapter 2 of the regulator's claim substantiation guideline writes down how to measure it, with a Cutometer or Dermaflex applying negative pressure and at least 20 valid data sets. Dr. J Ingredient Notes.

    🇰🇷 한국어판

    Hello, this is Dr. J. Today, five actives people reach for when they want firmer skin — chosen by what the human studies actually measured.

    Start with the odd part. In Korea, the regulator reviews “wrinkle improvement” and names the actives for it. It does not use the word elasticity anywhere in that table. Instead it wrote down how to measure elasticity, in a different document.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Primary sources

    📄 Functional Cosmetics Review Regulation, Annex 4 (Korea Law Service)

    📄 MFDS, Guideline on test methods for claim substantiation (March 2018, PDF, Korean)

    📄 Hyaluronic acid, 8-week study (J Clin Aesthet Dermatol 2014)

    📄 0.4% retinol, 24-week trial (Arch Dermatol 2007)

    Annex 4 holds six claim categories. The guideline holds ten test methods. Elasticity appears in the second document only.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    The short version

    ● Korea notifies six claim categories, and wrinkle improvement names four actives
    ● The word elasticity is not in that table
    ● Chapter 2 of the substantiation guideline is “Skin elasticity improvement”
    ● A Cutometer® or Dermaflex® applies negative pressure and measures the return
    ● So the test to apply to a product is: what did the study measure?

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    How Korea splits one face into two boxes

    Korean cosmetics law carves out a class called functional cosmetics. For each claim in that class the regulator publishes an annex that names the active and the percentage, and a product built to those numbers is spared from filing new efficacy data. Annex 4 is that table.

    Category What the annex sets Reading
    UV protection and tanning Actives and maximum percentages Both the name and the number are fixed
    Whitening Nine actives (arbutin 2–5%, niacinamide 2–5%, and others) Same
    Wrinkle improvement Four actives (retinol 2,500 IU/g, adenosine 0.04%, and others) The box next to today’s subject
    Hair colour change A list of dye actives Same
    Hair removal Thioglycolic acid 3.0–4.5% A single active
    Acne relief Salicylic acid 0.5% Same
    Firmness / elasticity No category at all Not a claim the regulator reviews

    The wrinkle box, in full

    Active Percentage Reading
    Retinol 2,500 IU/g One of the few set in international units
    Retinyl palmitate 10,000 IU/g A larger number than retinol
    Adenosine 0.04% The smallest percentage of the four
    Polyethoxylated retinamide 0.05–0.2% Written as a range

    Annex 4, wrinkle entry — as written

    Dosage forms: “limited to lotions, solutions, creams and impregnated masks”
    Claim: “helps improve skin wrinkles”
    Directions: “apply an appropriate amount evenly to the skin; or apply the product to the skin, remove the support after 10–20 minutes and spread the remaining product evenly (impregnated masks only)”

    Even the sentence a brand may print is fixed. Elasticity is in none of those cells.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What exists instead: a written test method

    The second document is a civil petitioner guideline published by the Ministry of Food and Drug Safety in March 2018. It sets out how to substantiate ten claims that fall outside the functional class.

    Chapter Claim Added
    Ch. 1 Skin moisturisation 2012.5 (original)
    Ch. 2 Skin elasticity improvement 2012.5 (original)
    Ch. 3 Sebum control 2012.5 (original)
    Ch. 4 Temporary cellulite reduction 2013.11
    Ch. 5 Suitable for acne-prone skin 2013.11
    Ch. 6 Dark circle relief 2014.8
    Ch. 7 Improved skin blood flow 2015.12
    Ch. 8 Puffiness relief 2015.12
    Ch. 9 Paraben-free 2017.3.31
    Ch. 10 Fine dust protection 2018.3.28

    Chapter 2, Skin elasticity improvement — the guideline’s own sentences

    “This is a test in which a Cutometer® or Dermaflex® applies negative pressure to the skin and measures the degree to which it returns to its original state”
    “The number of subjects shall provide at least 20 sets of valid data so that statistical comparison is possible”
    “from among adult men and women aged 20 or over”
    “The test site shall be the whole face, including the eye area (the measurement site)”

    The conditions are written down as well: no air movement or direct sunlight, 20–24 °C and 40–60% relative humidity, 30 minutes of acclimatisation before measurement, a significance level of 0.05, and non-parametric tests as the default when an arm holds 30 subjects or fewer.

    ⚠ What Chapter 2 does not contain is as telling. There is no list of permitted wordings and no pass mark, and no parameter is named — R2, R5 and R7 appear nowhere. The state writes the procedure and leaves the threshold open.

    Evidence summary for five firmness actives. First, Korea notifies wrinkle, not firmness: the six categories are UV protection and tanning, whitening, wrinkle improvement, hair colour change, hair removal and acne relief, and the wrinkle category names four actives with set percentages, while the word elasticity is absent. Second, the test method is written down in Chapter 2 of the claim substantiation guideline: a Cutometer or Dermaflex applies negative pressure and measures how far the skin returns, with at least 20 valid data sets, adults aged 20 and over, the whole face including the eye area, 20 to 24 degrees Celsius and 40 to 60 percent relative humidity, 30 minutes of rest before measurement and a significance level of 0.05. Third, hyaluronic acid measured elasticity directly in 33 women of mean age 45.2 over 8 weeks, where the Cutometer R7 value was higher on the treated side, although the 55 percent figure appears only in the abstract, no p value is given for elasticity and there is no placebo arm. Fourth, retinol and adenosine are the notified actives: a 24 week randomised double blind vehicle controlled trial in 36 residents of mean age 87 found a fine wrinkling change of minus 1.64 against minus 0.08 for vehicle with P below 0.001, and that trial measured no elasticity. Fifth, vitamin C 5 percent was compared with its vehicle for 6 months and electron microscopy showed repair of elastic tissue, but the number of participants is not in the abstract. Sixth, collagen peptides were measured by mouth, not on the skin: 69 women aged 35 to 55 took 2.5 or 5.0 grams daily for 8 weeks and both doses improved elasticity against placebo.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    One study measured elasticity directly — hyaluronic acid

    33 women, mean age 45.2 ± 3.9, over 8 weeks at a contract institute in Hamburg. A low molecular weight hyaluronic acid lotion, serum and cream were applied twice a day to the whole face, with measurements at baseline and on days 15, 29 and 57.

    Elasticity was read with a Cutometer, and the treated side rose significantly above the untreated side. Moisture, roughness and erythema were measured too; the only p value printed in the body of the paper belongs to erythema.

    The weak points belong in the same paragraph. The “up to 55%” figure lives in the abstract and is not carried into the text, no p value is given for elasticity, and there is no placebo arm — the comparison is with an untreated area. The concentration of the product is not disclosed either.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Two are notified actives — retinol and adenosine

    The retinol trial measured wrinkles. 36 residents of two long-term care facilities, mean age 87, were followed for 24 weeks in a randomised, double-blind, vehicle-controlled design: 0.4% retinol lotion on one arm, its vehicle on the other, up to three times a week.

    Fine wrinkling scores changed by −1.64 (95% CI −2.06 to −1.22) with retinol against −0.08 (−0.17 to 0.01) with vehicle, P<.001. In biopsy subsets, glycosaminoglycan expression rose (P=.02) and procollagen I staining increased (P=.049).

    That trial measured no elasticity. It measured wrinkle scores and tissue markers. Adenosine, meanwhile, carries a number the regulator chose: 0.04%, set in Annex 4, not by the brand.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    One looked at the fibres — vitamin C 5%

    A 5% ascorbic acid cream was compared with its own excipient for 6 months, double-blind, applied daily, with assessments at baseline, 3 months and 6 months and biopsies at the end.

    Global scores from both the dermatologist and the volunteer improved against control, the density of the skin microrelief rose and deep furrows fell. Electron microscopy showed repair of elastic tissue, consistent with the clinical and surface findings.

    Two limits: the number of participants is not stated in the abstract (healthy female volunteers with photoaged skin is as far as it goes), and what this study saw is tissue, not an elasticity reading.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    One was measured by mouth — collagen peptides

    69 women aged 35–55, 23 per arm, took 2.5 g or 5.0 g of collagen hydrolysate or placebo once daily for 8 weeks, with a 4-week follow-up after the supplement stopped.

    Both doses improved skin elasticity against placebo at 8 weeks, and four weeks after stopping, elasticity remained significantly higher in the older women. Hydration and transepidermal water loss moved in subgroup analysis but not significantly.

    This one is not applied to the skin. It belongs on a different shelf from the jar, and the exact figures, p values and the instrument used sit behind a paywall this piece could not open.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    The five in one table

    Active Subjects Duration Design Measured Result
    Hyaluronic acid 33 8 weeks Treated vs untreated area Elasticity Significantly higher on the treated side
    Retinol 0.4% 36 24 weeks Randomised, double-blind, vehicle Wrinkles, tissue −1.64 vs −0.08 (P<.001)
    Adenosine 0.04% — — Set by Annex 4 — Notified for wrinkle improvement
    Vitamin C 5% not in abstract 6 months Double-blind, vehicle Elastic tissue Repair on electron microscopy
    Collagen peptides 69 8 weeks Randomised, double-blind, placebo Elasticity (oral) Both doses above placebo

    And where each one is weak

    Active What this study cannot say
    Hyaluronic acid The 55% figure is abstract-only; no p value for elasticity and no placebo arm; the concentration is undisclosed
    Retinol It did not measure elasticity. The cohort is also a mean age of 87 in residential care, which does not transfer cleanly to younger skin
    Adenosine What the regulator approved is wrinkle improvement, not an elasticity figure
    Vitamin C No participant count in the abstract, and it looked at tissue rather than an elasticity reading
    Collagen peptides Not a topical result. The numbers, p values and instrument could not be verified in the full text

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    Korea, the United States and the EU — reviewed names and proven names

    Korea United States EU
    Ingredient list per claim Annex 4 of the functional cosmetics regulation — actives and percentages for six claims None Positive lists cover colorants, preservatives and UV filters only (Regulation 1223/2009, Art. 14)
    “Wrinkle” Reviewed or notified before sale as a functional claim No approved list of claims Handled as a claim, under the common criteria
    “Elasticity” Chapter 2 writes down the measuring procedure No procedure written by the regulator The six common criteria demand evidence
    In their words “a Cutometer® or Dermaflex® applies negative pressure to the skin…” “FDA does not have a list of approved or accepted claims for cosmetics” “adequate and verifiable evidence” · “state of the art practices” (655/2013)
    When it is checked Functional claims before sale; elasticity when asked No pre-market approval for cosmetics No pre-market approval; the evidence must exist

    Lined up, the Korean position is unusual in a specific way. One face, two boxes. The claim closest to firmness — wrinkles — is handled by ingredient, in advance. Firmness itself is handled by procedure, afterwards. Neither the United States nor the EU keeps the first box for this kind of claim at all, which is why an exporter reads the two sentences in opposite order: in Seoul the first question is which active and what percentage, and in Brussels or Washington it is what evidence is on file.

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    What was left out, and why

    ✔ The niacinamide elasticity trial (Bissett et al., Dermatol Surg 2005) — the abstract could not be opened at a primary source today. Europe PMC returned 429 on all three attempts and Wiley, the journal’s own full text and Semantic Scholar all errored
    ✔ Injected hyaluronic acid (mesotherapy) — a procedure, not a cosmetic
    ✔ Lasers, radiofrequency and thread lifts — same reason
    ✔ Madecassoside — the primary sources found were reviews
    ✔ A green tea study (Chiu 2005) — oral and topical treatment were given together, so neither arm can be read alone
    ✔ A pass mark for Chapter 2 — the guideline does not set one

    About the author · Dr. J

    MS in Veterinary Medicine, PhD in Life Sciences. I worked as a researcher at the Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology (KRIBB) and now run Beaurea, a cosmetics manufacturing company, where I write the formulas myself. This blog reads the research papers and the regulatory documents and turns them into plain-language criteria for choosing ingredients. I don’t recommend specific products here – only criteria that apply to any product.

    📌 Related

    📌 Adenosine 0.04%: who decided that number — the box next door, wrinkle improvement

    📌 Hyaluronic acid: how to read the molecular weight — the one active here that measured elasticity

    📌 Collagen: topical vs oral — the longer version of the oral section

    📌 Pores and sebum: the test method the regulator wrote down — Chapter 3 of the same guideline

    📄 References

    · Functional Cosmetics Review Regulation, Annex 4 (Korea Law Service, read 21 October 2026)

    · MFDS, Guideline on test methods for the substantiation of cosmetic labelling and advertising (civil petitioner guideline, March 2018), Chapter 2

    · Jegasothy SM, Zabolotniaia V, Bielfeldt S. J Clin Aesthet Dermatol 2014;7(3):27-29

    · Kafi R, Kwak HSR, Schumacher WE, Cho S, Hanft VN, Hamilton TA, King AL, Neal JD, Varani J, Fisher GJ, Voorhees JJ, Kang S. Arch Dermatol 2007;143(5):606-612

    · Humbert PG, Haftek M, Creidi P, Lapière C, Nusgens B, Richard A, Schmitt D, Rougier A, Zahouani H. Exp Dermatol 2003;12(3):237-244

    · Proksch E, Segger D, Degwert J, Schunck M, Zague V, Oesser S. Skin Pharmacol Physiol 2014;27(1):47-55

    · U.S. FDA, “Cosmetics Labeling Claims” (content current as of 21 November 2022)

    · Commission Regulation (EU) No 655/2013, common criteria · Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009, Article 14

    ――――――――――――――――――――――――――――

    This article summarises published research and public regulatory documents; it is not medical advice. Annex 4 and Chapter 2 of the substantiation guideline were read at source on 21 October 2026, and the Korean documents are quoted here in translation. Of the four studies, one does not state its participant count, one measured no elasticity at all, and one was taken by mouth. Those facts are in the tables. Ingredient names and percentages are given as criteria for reading a product, not as a recommendation of any product.

    — Dr. J Ingredient Notes

  • Collagen On Your Skin Is Not Collagen In Your Diet – 300,000 Daltons and 500 Daltons (Ingredient Guide 5)

    Cover image for Collagen On Your Skin Is Not Collagen In Your Diet. Dr. J Ingredient Notes guide 5, comparing collagen's roughly 300,000 dalton size with the 500 dalton figure usually quoted for crossing the stratum corneum, and summarising four studies on oral collagen.

    Hello, this is Dr. J.

    The fifth ingredient guide is about collagen. The question I am asked most often is whether someone already using a collagen cream also needs to take collagen by mouth.

    They share a name, so it is easy to assume they share a job. They do not – the two forms take completely different routes through the body.

    Today I will mark out where those routes separate, using a molecular size figure and a daily gram figure.

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    📄 Read the sources first, if you prefer

    · Bos JD, Meinardi MMHM, Exp Dermatol 2000 – the 500 dalton rule for the stratum corneum

    · Danessa G et al., Indian J Dermatol Venereol Leprol 2025 – meta-analysis of 10 randomised trials

    · 🏠 Korea MFDS functional ingredient search – for anything sold under a Korean health-food claim

    The papers carry the doses, durations and effect sizes I have kept out of the text here.

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    Fifteen-second summary · no sound

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    The four lines, if you are in a hurry

    ✔ A collagen molecule is about 300,000 daltons. The figure usually quoted for crossing the stratum corneum is 500

    ✔ So applied collagen does its work at the surface, holding water

    ✔ Oral collagen is absorbed as short peptides. Across 10 randomised trials and 646 people, hydration and elasticity improved

    ✔ The intake approved in Korea is 1 to 3 g a day

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    How far does applied collagen get – 300,000 daltons against 500

    Bos JD and Meinardi MMHM set out the benchmark in Experimental Dermatology in 2000 (volume 9, pages 165–169): for a substance applied to skin to cross the stratum corneum, its molecular weight generally needs to be under 500 daltons.

    Collagen comes in at roughly 300,000 daltons – about six hundred times larger. Which means applied collagen has a job of its own, and it is a surface job: a thin layer that holds water where it sits. The same seat that hyaluronic acid and glycerin occupy.

    ✔ Read a collagen cream as a humectant and film former

    ✔ When choosing one, the word collagen matters less than the moisturising and barrier ingredients around it

    Some labels say hydrolysed collagen instead. That is a smaller, cut-down form – but how far it has been cut is rarely stated on the pack, so the label alone will not settle it. The ingredients listed alongside remain the more reliable signal.

    Evidence summary for collagen. Applied collagen is about 300,000 daltons, above the 500 dalton figure quoted for crossing the stratum corneum, so it holds water at the surface; oral collagen improved hydration and elasticity in a meta-analysis of 10 randomised trials covering 646 people. Also lists the 2000 molecular size paper, the 2025 meta-analysis, an 80-woman 6-week trial, a 69-woman 8-week trial, and the Korean MFDS approved intake of 1 to 3 grams a day.

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    What has been measured for oral collagen – up to 646 people

    Danessa G and colleagues published a meta-analysis in Indian J Dermatol Venereol Leprol in 2025. It pooled 10 randomised controlled trials covering 646 people, taking 1 to 10 g a day for one to three months. Both hydration and elasticity moved in the direction of improvement.

    The individual trials are worth seeing as well.

    ✔ Carrillo-Norte JA et al., Cosmetics 2024, volume 11, article 137 – 80 women aged 30 to 65, 6 weeks, 2.5 g a day. Wrinkle volume down 46%, skin hydration up 34%

    ✔ Proksch E et al., Skin Pharmacol Physiol 2014, volume 27, pages 47–55 – 69 women aged 35 to 55, 8 weeks, 2.5 g or 5 g a day. Elasticity improved significantly; hydration and water loss showed a trend

    Products and peptide sizes differ between trials, so the individual numbers do not transfer cleanly from one to another. The direction does.

    One limit worth stating plainly: participants were mostly women, and the trials ran 6 to 12 weeks. Whether the same holds for men, or over a longer horizon, is not something this body of work answers.

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    The two routes side by side

      Applied to skin Taken by mouth
    Form Whole molecule, about 300,000 daltons Cut into short peptides
    Route Stays on the surface Absorbed in the gut, carried in blood
    What it does Holds water, builds a film Hydration and elasticity measures improved in trials
    Number to read What else is in the formula Grams of collagen per daily serving
    Time frame While you are using it Trials ran 6 to 12 weeks

    Shortened to a line: one works on the surface, the other works from the inside. It is not a choice between them so much as two different seats at the table.

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    How many grams, and for how long

    In Korea, the individually approved ingredient low-molecular collagen peptide (notification 2013-30) carries the claim “may help with skin hydration”, with a daily intake of 1 to 3 g. The trials above used 2.5 to 5 g a day for 6 to 12 weeks, which tells you something on its own: this is not an ingredient you can judge in a fortnight.

    On the pack, the number to find is not the capsule count but the grams of collagen in one day’s serving. A sachet marked 3,000 mg is the weight of the sachet; how much of that is collagen is printed separately.

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    What pairs well – vitamin C and protein

    Vitamin C works as a cofactor when the body builds its own collagen, which is why so many collagen products include it.

    That said, a supplement does not replace a meal. Eating enough protein comes first; the supplement sits on top of that.

    For layering order on the topical side, the ingredient compatibility chart covers twelve ingredients and what to keep apart.

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    Five things to check before you buy

    ✔ Cream – is collagen listed alongside hyaluronic acid, glycerin or ceramides

    ✔ Supplement – grams of collagen per daily serving, not the capsule count

    ✔ Claim – whether the pack carries an approved wording rather than a promise

    ✔ Format – powder, liquid or tablet, whichever you will actually take for six weeks or more

    ✔ Medication – if you take anything regularly, ask your doctor or pharmacist first

    ―――――――――――――――――――――

    In one line

    🧪 Applied collagen holds water at the surface; oral collagen is absorbed as peptides. Neither substitutes for the other.

    The next ingredient guide is panthenol – the name on the back of every repair cream.

    📌 Earlier posts

    · Skincare Ingredient Compatibility Chart – 12 ingredients, what to layer and what to split

    · Retinol: Start at 0.1% – how to read the concentration numbers

    · Dull, Rough Skin? Glycolic Acid (AHA) – what the research shows and how much is safe

    About the author · Dr. J

    MS in Veterinary Medicine, PhD in Life Sciences. I worked as a researcher at the Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology (KRIBB) and now run Beaurea, a cosmetics manufacturing company, where I write the formulas myself. This blog reads the research papers and the regulatory documents and turns them into plain-language criteria for choosing ingredients. I don’t recommend specific products here – only criteria that apply to any product.

    📄 References

    · Bos JD, Meinardi MMHM, Exp Dermatol 2000;9(3):165-169

    · Danessa G et al., Indian J Dermatol Venereol Leprol 2025

    · Carrillo-Norte JA et al., Cosmetics 2024;11:137

    · Proksch E et al., Skin Pharmacol Physiol 2014;27(1):47-55

    · 🏠 Korea MFDS functional ingredient search

    Note: this article reads the research and the regulatory documents and sets out criteria for choosing an ingredient. It does not recommend a particular product. Food supplements are not intended to prevent or treat disease; if you take medication regularly, speak to your doctor or pharmacist first.


    Dr. J Ingredient Notes | Ingredient Guide 5 · Collagen